Join now - be part of our community!

VGN NR21Z Won't boot normally unless I disable graphics, please help

SOLVED
profile.country.en_GB.title
Nightjar11
Visitor

VGN NR21Z Won't boot normally unless I disable graphics, please help

Hi I have been quite happy with my notebook until recently it began to boot up, but  with  thin blue lines running horizontally down the screen and then the screen went blank and it failed to complete the boot cycle. (Sorry about my lack of correct terms - i'm new to this). It allowed some kind of windows ,fix start up program, to run, but returned a message saying it failed to fix it. It will boot in safe mode and allow you to switch of the graphics in the device driver. This is a NVIDIA GE FORCE 8400M GT and it will then boot up just fine, but with limited screen resolution. Turning the NVIDIA back on causes it to fail again after a short period of normal running. Any of you good people able to give me some pointers? I can't afford a new Notebook so happy to persevere

Many thanks

Vince

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
profile.country.GB.title
rich912
Contributor

mjt222 wrote:

Hi Mate

Yes I get the lines in the bios screen as well? Just rung Sony premium support and they say i have to pay £65 for a diagnostic check !!

That would tend to indicate that it is a hardware problem as opposed to a driver issue.

I would suggest that you speak to one of Sony's service partners to get an idea of repair cost prior to forking out £65 for diagnostic checks.

http://support.vaio.sony.eu/computing/vaio/contacts/asc.aspx?l=en_GB&m=VGN-NR21Z_S

Go n-éirí an bóthar leat

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
fishmanburt
Visitor

Hi Nightjar11,